What is Toyota Safety Sense?

July 31st, 2018 by

Toyota is known for its great safety features that are designed to keep you and your passengers, as well as other drivers, safe on the road. Toyota has had 9 of their vehicles named “Top Safety Picks” by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety in 2017 (Toyota), proving they are designed with safety in mind.

Toyota Safety Sense™ (TSS) is a bundle of active safety features that come standard on many new Toyota models, at no additional cost. TSS Features include Pre-Collision System, Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection, Lane Departure Alert, Automatic High Beams, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Road Sign Assist and Lane Tracing Assist.

Pre-Collision System is an advanced safety system designed to alert you and may apply the brakes if the vehicle detects a potential frontal collision with another vehicle (Toyota).

Pre-Collision System with Pedestrian Detection is an integrated camera and radar system that is designed to reduce the likelihood of colliding with a pedestrian or a preceding car (Toyota).

Lane Departure Alert is a camera on your vehicle’s windshield that can help avoid the consequences of unintended lane departure, by alerting you when it senses that you’ve veered from your lane (Toyota).

Automatic High Beams are detected by a camera on your vehicle’s windshield that aids nighttime driving by using a camera to detect headlights and taillights of preceding vehicles. The lights then toggle accordingly between high and low beams (Toyota).

Dynamic Radar Cruise Control is a high-tech cruise control that uses a radar and a camera on the windshield designed to adjust your speed. It helps you maintain a safe distance between you and the car in front of you (Toyota).

Road Sign Assist is a new feature of TSS. It uses a forward-facing intelligent camera that is designed to detect speed limit signs, stop signs & yield signs and displays them on the MID (Toyota).

Lane Tracing Assist is another new feature of TSS. Lance Tracing Assist is active when Dynamic Radar Cruise Control is enabled and lane markers are detectable. LTA uses the lines on the road and preceding vehicles to help keep the vehicle centered and in its own lane (Toyota).

Along with Top Safety Pick Awards in 2017, the Award Winning Safety vehicles in 2018 include the 2018 Toyota Corolla, 2018 Toyota RAV4, 2018 Toyota Prius, 2018 Toyota Highlander, 2018 Toyota Prius Prime, 2018 Toyota Avalon and the 2018 Toyota Camry (Toyota).

Over $1 million is spent every hour on Research & Development for Toyota Safety. Also, Toyota has shared their world-class THUMS safety software & data with 30 organizations and over 1.5 million drivers have participated in their teen driving safety initiatives (Toyota).



Google Images. July 2018.

Toyota. Designed for Safety. July 2018.

Toyota. Lets Go Places, Safely. July 2018.